top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturedoctorbhavikawrite

Skin care is more than skin-deep!

Updated: Nov 2, 2021

I passed my MD Dermatology this year and could finally introduce myself as a certified expert.


What I realised later was that what I learnt about skin was but a drop in the ocean.


Throughout my residency I prided myself for being good at academics and clinical diagnosis. But although it earned me the status of batch topper, turns out skincare in the real world isn't all about rare diagnosis or rattling off a list of differentials.


I scoffed at people who did postgraduation and limited themselves to cosmetic procedures until after my degree I was asked by friends predominantly about serums and toners, niacinamide and AHAs, Miami peels and vampire facials, and I found myself in completely unfamiliar territory. Most of the times, they were better researchers than I was.


I want to start my journey of understanding cosmetic products and procedures (and take you on the journey with me) as I navigate the basics of skincare and eat a slice of humble pie.


Skincare has to viewed as more than being superficial. Concern with ones physical appearance is now attributed to more than just vanity. It is synonymous to self love, something most people try to instill in their life as a constant in an ever changing world.


A skincare routine can be relaxing, help to pump you up for a work day ahead just as well as it can help you unwind on the weekends. It can be as elaborate or simple as you choose and acts as a simple reminder to take care of yourself.


While I definitely do not promote trying every new fad or spending tens of thousands of rupees on products just because of the way they are promoted, it is actually a simple process to study your skin and analyse what you need.


Good research (and guidance) can get you products to suit your budget, not stress you out more by making you broke, so you can fit it into your life for the long run. I look forward to learning a lot more and assisting as many people as I can on their journey.


Safe to say, I won't be mocking anyone who has the discipline to maintain a regular skincare routine anytime soon!

33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page